Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i started playing guitar about two months ago and im not very good yet. im going to start practicing alternitive picking so i can play really fast. i have a few questions about it. 1.Is it hard to learn alternitive picking and how long does it usually take to get rather good at it? and 2. is there any certain way i should practice it? any advice would be great. thanks

·
Registered
285 Posts
Hawksicken said:
i started playing guitar about two months ago and im not very good yet. im going to start practicing alternitive picking so i can play really fast. i have a few questions about it. 1.Is it hard to learn alternitive picking and how long does it usually take to get rather good at it? and 2. is there any certain way i should practice it? any advice would be great. thanks
Start out very very slowly. Like 60 beat per minute on a metronome or less. If you dont have a metronome, get one. They are absolutely essential when you are trying to develop even/in time alternate picking.

When I practice, I like to take a scale and make a simple 4 note pattern for example. I can hit one note out of that pattern per beat. I can hit two notes out of that four note pattern per beat. I could alternate pick four notes per beat if I wanted. If I really wanted to cram notes within one beat, I could repeat that four note pattern twice within one beat, which is eight notes per beat.

Thats just one example of the things I do to work on my alt picking.

Its not to hard to develop as long as you are patient and you take your time. If you really focus and dedicate yourself, you will see results, that I can assure you.

I suggest you look up guitar lessons on youtube by John Petrucci or Paul Gilbert because they are alternate picking monsters. Good luck:bannana_g

·
Registered
285 Posts
Hawksicken said:
One thing I like to do is alternate pick arpeggios across the fretboard.