Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

1,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Label: Audionics.
Label Number: 2012-01-02.
Release Date: September 2011.
Recording Type: Live Soundboard Recording / studio rehearsal [mp3].
Locations: South Bend, Indiana. University of Notre Dame / RCA Studio, Hollywood, California.
Date: October 1, 1974. Evening Show / August 16, 1974.
Sound: soundboard / very good.​

CD 1.
Live in South Bend, Indiana. October 1, 1974. evening show.
01 See See Rider
02 I Got A Woman / Amen
03 Love Me
04 Blue Suede Shoes
05 It’s Midnight
06 Big Boss Man
07 Fever
08 Love Me Tender
09 Hound Dog
10 Heartbreak Hotel
11 If You Love Me (Let Me Know)
12 Bridge Over Troubled Water
13 Introduction of vocalists, musicians
14 Guitar Solo [James Burton]
15 Drum Solo [Ronnie Tutt]
16 Bass Solo [Duke Bardwell]
17 Lawdy Miss Clawdy
18 Introductions of vacalists, musicians
19 Orchestra Solo [Joe Guercio Orchestra]
20 All Shook Up
21 Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel
22 Killing Me Softly [Voice]
23 Let Me Be There
24 It’s Now Or Never
25 You Gave Me A Mountain
26 Johnny B. Goode
27 Hawaiian Wedding Song
28 Steamroller Blues
29 Can’t Help Falling In Love
30 Closing Vamp / Announcements

CD 2. RCA' Studio, Hollywood, California. Rehearsals.
01 Promised Land
02 Down In The Alley
03 It’s Midnight
04 Your Love’s Been A Long Time Coming
05 Good Time Charlie’s Got The Blues
06 Softly, As I Leave You
07 I’m Leavin’
08 Proud Mary
09 If You Talk In Your Sleep
10 If You Love Me (Let Me Know) #1
11 If You Love Me (Let Me Know) #2
12 The Twelfth Of Never
13 Faded Love
14 Just Pretend

PRESS NOTES: "AUTUMN GOLD" include the complete South Bend, Indiana show from October 1st, 1974 and a generous chunk of the famous August 16, 1974 RCA Hollywood rehearsal in a totally different sound - binaural stereo, as it was originally recorded. The South Bend date was originally issued in 2003 by Follow That Dream, but "Killing Me Softly With His Song" and some stage dialogue were omitted, and the closing vamp was clipped.

Though Elvis’ personal problems were affecting some of his shows around this time, he seemed to be in fine fettle in South Bend. Overall, this show presents a solid and pleasing performance by Elvis, and though it has been released before, we can now enjoy a more complete and -- most importantly - sonically superior recording of this concert!

The August 16, 1974 rehearsal surfaced on bootleg compact disc in 1995, then officially fourteen years later on Follow That Dream. For the first time, Audionics presents these songs as originally recorded, in binaural stereo; and the sound is better than ever before. Unfortunately, the entire tape is unavailable, but all the essential performances are here. It is a real pleasure to listen tracks like "Softly As I Leave You" and "Twelfth Of Never" in binaural form.

"AUTUMN GOLD" is presented in a great-looking 2-disc digipak with a 20-page booklet filled with photographs taken that night in South Bend and at additional live shows and candids from March, August and October 1974.
All these recordings have been carefully engineered to be presented in the best possible sound.


Enjoy !
1 - 5 of 5 Posts