Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Premium Member
8,847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bob Dylan
1961-1962 Early Dylan

Original Info
Bob Dylan - Early Dylan 61/62 Compilation (

45 .shn's, 2 .md5's
Master SHNs > yEnc PowerPost Build 3 > a.b.m.shn

Posted in yEnc to by c.l in May 2002

This set donated by Phil Monnier is an outstanding early Dylan (61/62) compilation. This set includes tracks from
The Oscar Brand interview (10-29-61), Carnegie Chapter Hall (11-04-61), Bonnie Beacher's Apartment (12-22-61),
and the Leeds Demo (Feb. 62). The 11-04-61 and 12-22-61 shows are serious improvements from what most Dylan traders
have access to. Phil speculates that only a handful of traders around the world have these shows in this quality.
It is an unbelievable set. Another dylantree essential!

From Phil...
"The main purpose of this cd compilation is to give Dylan newbies excellent sounding early soundboard material.
Both 12-22-61 and 11-04-61 are tremendous upgrades to anything that has been released on boot over the years."

This set isn't just for newbies! The 12/22 and 11/04 sets are an incredible improvement.

Remaster Additional Info.

This is a gorgeous remastering of the Dylantree Early Dylan set.
As you may know, the dylantree version was flawed with "digital fuzz"
in many places, particularly on the Beacher tapes sections.
The fuzz is gone on the bprm. Other annoying extraneous noises have been
removed, as well as overlong dead spaces between tracks. No EQ changes
have been made to the original sound of the recordings.
Levels have been normalized to match up the varying sources.
The overall effect is to turn the Dylantree product into a two disc WOW!
rather than a choppy collection of moldy old stuff. It's never sounded better.
Steve Wilkison has done a wonderful job with this set. I consider it well worth getting,
even if you have the original dylantree set. Here is an additional comment from Steve:
"I spent the better part of two days remastering the "Early Dylan" set because it
literally contained well over 1,000 separate digital glitches." Turly a labor of love
This set includes:

Disc One

WNYC Radio
Oscar Brand Interview (basically an advertisment for the 11-4-61 show)
New York, N.Y.

Low generation *remastered*

01. Interview > Sally Girl
02. Interview > The Girl I Left Behind

Carnegie Chapter Hall
New York, N.Y.

1st generation *remastered*

03. Pretty Peggy-O
04. Banter > In The Pines
05. Gospel Plow
06. Banter >1913 Massacre
07. Backwater Blues
08. Banter > A Long Time A Growin'
09. Fixin' To Die
10. Brief snippet of chatter (cuts out)

Bonnie Beacher's Apartment
Minneapolis, MN

1st generation reel *remastered*

11. (cuts in) Candy Man
12. Baby Please Don't Go
13. Hard Times in New York
14. Stealin'
15. Po' Lazurus
16. I Ain't Got No Home
17. It's Hard To Be Blind
18. Dink's Song
19. Man Of Constant Sorrow
20. East Orange NJ

Disc Two
CONTINUED from Disc One

Bonnie Beacher's Apartment
Minneapolis, MN

1st generation reel *remastered*

01. Naomi Wise
02. Wade In The Water
03. I Was Young When I Left Home
04. In The Evening
05. Baby Let Me Follow You Down
06. Sally Girl
07. Gospel Plow
08. Long John
09. Cocaine
10. VD Blues
11. VD Waltz
12. VD City
13. VD Gunner's Blues
14. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
15. Ramblin' Around
16. Black Cross

Leeds Music
New York, NY

17. He Was A Friend Of Mine
18. Man On The Street
19. Hard Times In New York Town
20. Poor Boy Blues
21. Ballad For A Friend
22. Ramblin' Gamblin' Willie
23. Man On The Street
24. Talking Bear Mountain
25. Standing On The Highway

Additional Analysis Info.

Some notes comparing the sets that comprise these two discs with the
previously circulating versions. Special thanks for Mick for taking
the time to analyze & compare this stuff 'cause I could never have
done this.
I've compared the tracks from this new compilation to existing
circulating versions. In addition to listening tests, all tracks were
loaded into Cool Edit Pro so I could have a look at them and to do a
spectrum analysis.

The Leeds Demos are the only tracks that are not an improvement. They
appear to be a direct copy from the "In The Pines" CD.

For starters, the frequency response of all three of the other
recordings extends to 22 kHz.

The Oscar Brand tracks on the previous "I Was So Much Younger Then"
compilation have a frequency response that drops off the chart at about
16 kHz. Although the aural difference isn't dramatic, the new version
sounds more natural and open. It's also a hoot to hear Dylan tell Oscar
Brand with a straight face that he learned his songs from traveling with
carnivals when he was between 13 and 19 years old.

The only complete version of Carnegie Chapter Hall that I had for this
comparison was a 192kbps MP3 that I believe was taken from the "Acoustic
Troubadour" boot. Frequency response dies on that one at 9.5 kHz. The
new one, supposedly from a first generation tape copy, is a significant
improvement, again sounding much more natural. This is definitely the
version to own. Interestingly, both versions experience distortion on
the louder guitar parts, so I guess the original recording levels were
just set a little too hot.

The other recording on this set is the December 22, 1961 tape recorded
at Bonnie Beacher's apartment. This is more commonly known as the
Minnesota Hotel Tape. The best previously circulating version was on
the Wanted Man release, "The Minnesota Tapes". To the naked ear, both
versions sound pretty close, although the volume of the newer version is
lower. It wasn't until I loaded them both into Cool Edit Pro that I saw
the differences. Although the frequency response of both versions
extends to 22 kHz, the new version has a slightly better response in the
high end. To be honest, it kind of looks like someone boosted the
frequency above 14 kHz, but there is a more open sound to my ears. It's
not a huge difference, but noticeable if you are listening for it. For
the purists, however, this new version is the one to get. In a wave
editor, you can see that the Wanted Man version has been slightly
compressed. Specifically, hard limiting has been applied to smooth out
the levels. That's common mastering practice and on this type of
recording would be highly recommended. The limiting was done
judiciously and does not alter the sound. Still, for the purist wanting
to get as close to the original as possible, this new one is it.

Any way you look at it, this new compilation is a "must have" for lovers
of this material. The sound quality is on par with the "Gaslight Tapes
1962" release which upgraded the Oct. '62 Gaslight tape. Additionally,
if you also have "Echo's Album" with its superior version of the 5/2/63
show from The Bear in Chicago, then the "In The Pines" CD is now
irrelevant and outdated.

Mick McLaughlin (aka Unicorn)

Notes from happy jack 11-10-2010
updated info. text (i combined all important parts of info. files into one)
all original info files included (4 total)
checked the md5s for disk 1 & 2 (which are included and passed)
added art work

enjoy this great sound quality of music and history of early Bob Dylan

Thanks to the person and people involved

Do NOT Sell !!!!

happy jack

dalmar6677-Bob_Dylan_1961-1962_Early_Dylan_Remastered_shn.rar - FileFactory
  • Like
Reactions: Kingmccoolx
1 - 6 of 6 Posts