Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
  • Hello guitar enthusiasts! We are pleased to announce an Ask Me Anything discussion thread with Dutch musician Arjen Lucassen. The AMA will be going live on Tuesday, August 10th, and will run until August 12th, and can be found here. Don't miss out!
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

Premium Member
8,845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1985 to 1987

This series is dedicated to another Charlie Watts sidestep: The Charlie Watts Orchestra.
All song titles were not identified yet... any help is welcome!
Thanks to the original recorders and especially to nzb and Jaap (Stonesmuziekfan) who provided me their recordings, gave critic and advice regarding my work … so without whom this project wouldn’t have been possible!


23rd November 1985
LONDON - Ronnie Scott’s (2nd set)

23rd November1985: THE CHARLIE WATTS ORCHESTRA. London, Ronnie Scott’s
(2nd set)
The line-up is not 100% sure but according to the other shows it's most probably:
CW (dr)/John Stevens and Bill Eyden (dr)/Jack Bruce (cello)/Stan Tracey (p)/Jim Lawless and Bill LeSage (vibes) Dave Green (bass)/Ron Mathewson (bass)/Colin Smith, John Huckeridge, Steve Sidwell, Harry Beckett, Ted Emmett, Jimmy Deuchar and Dave Defries (tp)/Paul Rutherford, Annie Whitehead, Chris Pyne and John Picard (tb)/Don Weller, Evan Parker, Alan Skidmore, Bobby Wellins, Danny Moss and Courtney Pine (tsax)/Peter King, Ray Warleigh and Willie Garnett (asax)/Gail Thompson (bsax)/Olaf Vas (clarinet, flute)/Julie Dennis (voc)/Gail Ann Dorsey (voc)/Alan Cohen (arranger, conductor)
01 – intro
02 – Stompin’ At The Savoy
03 – For He’s A Jolly Good Fellow
04 – Prelude To A Kiss
05 – I Love Paris (Gail Ann Dorsey on vocals)
06 – Midnight Sun
07 – Jumpin’ With Symphony Sid

01 – Skylark
02 – unknown instrumental
03 – When You’re Smiling
04 – You’ve Changed (Julie Dennis on vocals)
05 – Flying Home

Like in the first set, only nzb’s version was lossless! I amplified the sound a little bit (+ 2db) and reworked the intro and outro from the show.
« Prelude To A Kiss » is cut in two parts reconnected at 4’02.
There was a gap in « Jumpin’ With Symphony Sid » at 8’09 which now is fixed and « When You’re Smiling » was cut (at 8 seconds) in two parts - now both parts are reconnected again.

As usual all the infos are taken from The Complete Works Of The Rolling Stones database by Nico Zentgraf: The Complete Works of the Rolling Stones - Database
Posted in 2020 by StonyRoad at IORR
1 - 1 of 1 Posts