Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

603 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Elvis Costello and The Attractions
(with Gary Barnacle)
Live at The Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA

FM Broadcast, very good quality
mp3 @ 192 kbps

Here's an excellent radio show from the 1984 Goodbye Cruel World Tour. Although GCW, the album, has been harshly criticized (primarily due to Langer and Winstanley intrusive and annoying pop production style), I actually have always really liked it, as it has several great songs that should have gotten more attention and repeated play on subsequent tours ('Inch By Inch', 'Deportees Club', 'Sour Milk Cow Blues', 'Worthless Thing', 'The Comedians', and 'Peace In Our Time' are classics). Regardless, though, the 1984 tour was great, as the production issues with the songs were not a problem, and it was the only chance to hear many of these songs live. With sax player Gary Barnacle added for this tour, the songs get a lttle fuller sound, but not the full horns treatment of the previous tour. In addition to the GCW songs, a particular highlight was Elvis's cover of the Byrd's 'So You Want To Be A Rock 'n Roll Star'. This particular show, in various forms, has been the source of a number of different bootlegs over the years. Unfortunately, none of them are complete. Although 28 songs were played, the known bootlegs contain anywhere from 11 to 23 songs. This one I have comes from a WLIR broadcast and contains 19 songs. Additional songs that were played, but not on this recording are 'Shabby Doll', 'Worthless Thing', 'I Hope You're Happy Now', 'King Horse', 'Young Boy Blues', 'Home Truth', 'Riot Act', 'Peace in our Time', and '(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace Love, and Understanding?'). Although only a partial show, it is still excellent.

01 Let Them All Talk
02 The Greatest Thing
03 Mystery Dance
04 Girls Talk
05 So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
06 I Wanna Be Loved
07 Sour Milk Cow Blues
08 Lipstick Vogue
09 Watching The Detectives
10 Shipbuilding
11 Beyond Belief
12 Clubland
13 Inch By Inch
14 The Deportees Club
-- Encore:
15 Everyday I Write The Book
16 The Only Flame In Town
17 Getting Mighty Crowded
18 Alison
19 Pump It Up-Ain't Got A Lot of Love-Tears Tears and More Tears-Intros-Pump It Up

Elvis Costello - Vocals, Guitar
Bruce Thomas - Bass
Pete Thomas - Drums
Maurice Worm (Steve Nieve) - Keyboards
Gary Barnacle - Sax

Delayed FM Broadcast from WLIR-FM, Garden City, Long Island, NY USA
Source: from off-air master cassette tape

768 Posts
thanks for the Elvis!
1 - 3 of 3 Posts