Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Elvis Costello & The Attractions
"STIFFs Live" Tour
University Leicester, London
22 October 1977
Track list:
01 Intro
02 Love Comes In Spurts
03 No Action
04 (The Angels Want To Wear My) Red Shoes
05 Blame It On Cain
06 The Beat
07 Dr. Luther's Assistant
08 This Year's Girl
09 (I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea
10 Less Than Zero
11 Whole Wide World
12 Roadette Song##
13 Neat Neat Neat##
14 Little Triggers
15 Radio Radio
16 You Belong To Me
17 Miracle Man
## Removed as on official release

Offered here is a "remastered" version of the "Leicester 77" torrent.
After downloading and listening to this show it became apparent that some editing
was necessary to enhance and correct this wonderful recording.
Here's a list of what has been changed:
1. Track breaks have been corrected (no longer chop into songs in progress).
2. Last track is complete (sharp fade removed).
In addition, the sound quality has been enhanced in the following ways using
Waves audio plug-ins:
S1 Matrix - Subtle Improved Imaging
C1 Compressor/Gate - HF Enhanced
Q10 - HF Gain +1db
The sound is now more dynamic, giving equal weight to the upper dynamics that
were hidden in the original recording.
I feel that these changes greatly improve the quality of this
performance, and as such, warrant the sharing of these files.
Remastered by Neon Kaiser,
February 2005.

Original Info File:

? Gens > EAC > WAV > SHN
Liberated Bootleg: "Get Emotional"
[Young American Records YACD-025]
01 Love Comes In Spurts
02 No Action
03 [The Angels Want To Wear My] Red Shoes
04 Blame It On Cain
05 The Beat
06 Dr. Luther's Assistant
07 This Year's Girl
08 [I Don't Want to Go to] Chelsea
09 Less Than Zero
10 The Whole Wide World*
11 Roadette Song*##
12 Neat Neat Neat*##
13 Little Triggers
14 Radio Radio
15 You Belong To Me
16 Miracle Man
## Removed as on official release
Elvis Costello - guitar & vocals
Steve Nieve - keyboards & vocals
Bruce Thomas - bass & vocals
Pete Thomas - drums & vocals
*Davey Payne - saxophone
The set list is quite unusual with lots of covers: Wreckless Eric's "Whole Wide World", Ian Dury's "Roadette Song", The Damned's "Neat Neat Neat" plus an extraordinary opening rendition of Richard Hell's "Love Comes In Spurts", dedicated to Richard Hell [in the audience]. This is a single CD reflecting EC's relatively short set list on the multi-artist Stiffs Live Tour.

Trade Freely.
Never Sell.
Support the Artist: Purchase ALL authorized releases.
Support the Trading Community: Never Encode to mp3 (doesn't apply to iPod owners) or other lossy format.

Elvis Costello & the Attractions
December 2, 1977
The Riviera
Chicago, Illinois, U.S.
source: WXRT FM broadcast
flac files provided by John Everingham.
I retracked most tracks using Audacity, and separated the intro and the encore break into their own tracks.
editing lineage: FLAC > TLH > WAV > Audacity (retracking) > TLH > FLAC 6 (align SB) > Foobar2000 (flac tags).

01. intro
02. Welcome to the Working Week
03. (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes
04. Waiting For the End of the World
05. No Action
06. The Beat
07. Less Than Zero
08. Radio, Radio
09. You Belong to Me
10. Lipstick Vogue
11. Watching the Detectives
12. Pump It Up
13. Miracle Man
14. encore break
15. Mystery Dance
Time - 41:50
_ a little hiss or static can be heard during the middle of WTD.
- artwork to come
- in 2005 another version of this show was torrented from a WXRT
rebroadcast. That version had a less hiss, but much lower levels,
a skip in Miracle Man at 2:04, and didn't have the original intro.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts