Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used a floating floyd before. Only the non-floating ones.

So my question is this:

I've heard that if you break a string on a floating floyd, the whole thing goes out of tune.

Second, I've heard that when you bend strings the other ones go sharp?

So, if the thing does go out of tune when you break a string, how do you fix it?

And also, if it's true about the strings sharping, what can you do about that?

Thanks in advance!

·
Crazy Admin
4,016 Posts
EJ would prolly be able to give you alot more info about this ,

but both things are true ... the string bending other notes going sharp thing isn't really a huge problem and i've heard (from EJ) that if you set it up well you can minimise the effect ...

The string breaking thing i can't see anyway around .. i've broken strings before in a gig and there is no way i could even play another note it would totally go out of tune to the point of being unplayable ... the thing i do now is just make sure i replace my strings before they look like they're going to break ...

They are awesome bridges though they are the only 2 real downfalls of them in my opinion the tuning is fantastic , and i can always rely on it

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Stiglar said:
EJ would prolly be able to give you alot more info about this ,

but both things are true ... the string bending other notes going sharp thing isn't really a huge problem and i've heard (from EJ) that if you set it up well you can minimise the effect ...

The string breaking thing i can't see anyway around .. i've broken strings before in a gig and there is no way i could even play another note it would totally go out of tune to the point of being unplayable ... the thing i do now is just make sure i replace my strings before they look like they're going to break ...