Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
Bio: Marc Seal, guitarist and instructor, has been playing since age 11. He graduated from the Guitar Institute of Technology in 1989 and teaches full-time, instructing 50 students per week.

Marc also writes, records and performs his own music as well as doing studio work for outside projects and performing with a variety of artists.

Marcs past guitar instruction shows (Guitarmania for Digevent and TUGS for Guitarschool.net) were a huge success and with a future TV/internet show in the works, things are looking even better. For more info on Marc, check out http://www.marcseal.com

On a more personal note, Marc is the reason I started playing again after putting it down for 2 years. His Guitar Mania show was the huge boot in the ass that I needed, lol. So anyway, it's a great honor to have this opportunity to interview Marc.

PG: Describe a typical Marc Seal day?

Marc: Wake up, hang out with my 2 year old boy, go to breakfast, head off to the park. Then put my son down for a nap. While he is sleeping I will work in the studio (Usually a couple of hours) writing, demoing or recording various material. In the afternoons I teach about 12-14 private lessons, come home and putt around the studio for 2-3 hours til about 1:00 in the morning!

PG: Who would you say you're style is the closest to?

Marc: I have been told a cross between Eric Johnson and Joe Satriani (A little edgier than Johnson, not as heavy as Satch).

PG: Name some of your influences when you first started playing guitar and what was the first album you sat down and learned, note for note?

Marc: David Gilmore, Jimmy Page, Robby Krieger, Andy Taylor, Andy Summers, Eddie Van Halen, Alex Lifeson and, of course, Randy Rhodes. I'm not sure I ever learned an entire album note for note, but I did learn a lot of Blizzard of Oz by Ozzy.

PG: Who are some of your current guitar influences?