Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Jimi soundcheck from Monterey?

I'm no Hendrix expert, but I was at Monterey that weekend, and my recollection is that not many bands did formal soundchecks. Any such would have been plainly audible on the festival grounds, because the arena was in the center of the site, open to the air. I did sit down for a few minutes of the Buffalo Springfield soundcheck on Saturday,* because I could hear it walking by the arena, but honestly don't recall any others. FWIW...

*They did "Clancy"...

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanx, Buck, you could probably write a book about that weekend. I could write a pamphlet and was on my way as a 12 year old without knowing diddly but got ditched in Bakersfield, probably wouldn't have known to stick around til the end tho...
But, we know Jimi did a soundcheck, plenty of pix and stories about it, how much of one and if it was recorded would only be known to a relative few, and many are gone now.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Hey Ron, that is super-interesting to know! I guess at least a few people nearby got a sneak preview of what blew everyone else's minds later on. AFAIK he was utterly unknown in the U.S. when he stepped onto the Monterey stage that Sunday night... dunno if AYE even had radio airplay by then. Not on AM radio in my town, that's for sure....

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·