Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been playing the guitar for almost 8 years. I haven't learned any scales and I've never taken an actual guitar lesson. I have always just played the blues and i've been lucky enough to jam and learn from some great blues musicians. I really feel like I need to start studying some other styles of music though and I recently found this site. It seems like most of the people here listen to people like Vai and satriani. I had never really listened to them, but since finding this site i've started listening to it a lot and realized that I can't play this style of music at all. What's a good way to get started with this type of music? Also, what are some good songs to listen to/start with?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I just listened to For the Love of God. I have heard a few Steve Vai songs and new he was good, but this song was amazing. I guess I have a new guitarist to add to my "list of favorite guitarists".

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Next time he plays in California I'll have to check him out. I read an interview of his a while back, he seems to be an incredibly educated musician. I need to start actually "learning" how to play the guitar. Got any advice on a good book for learning scales and techniques?

·
Registered
886 Posts
learn some theory and modes. This will help you to break out of the pentatonic scale. Also listen to some kick as guitar players such as:

Vai
VH
Satch/Sadge
Paul Gilbert
John Petrucci
Guthrie Govan
Greg Howe
Richie Kotzen

·
drunken loser!
444 Posts
dude i know exacrly where you are coming from with this one,
im pretty sure that the guys on here will explain this better than i ever could so hopefully one of them will fill in the holes.
i'm just at this stage myself, i've been playing for 5 years and the blues thing fitted me quite well, i could play a few tunez and jam along with some other guys etc, but all blues based.