Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
  • Hello guitar enthusiasts! We are pleased to announce an Ask Me Anything discussion thread with Dutch musician Arjen Lucassen. The AMA will be going live on Tuesday, August 10th, and will run until August 12th, and can be found here. Don't miss out!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Premium Member
3,375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)

Led Zeppelin
Tarrant County Convention Center
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
23 August 1971

Hot August Night, TDOLZ (Revision B)

Original source lineage: Silvers > EAC > flac
Additional source lineage: flacs > TLH > wav > Adobe Audition 3.0.1* > wav
Tracked with CD Wave, encoded to flac 8 with Flac Frontend, tagged and verified

1. Dazed And Confused 19:12
2. Stairway To Heaven 10:22
3. Celebration Day 4:59
4. That's The Way 6:58
5. What Is And What Should Never Be 5:00
6. Moby Dick 15:21
7. Whole Lotta Love 25:14
8. Communication Breakdown 0:48

Total time: 87:55

* - appended wavs
- 102.8 stretch, resampled with high precision
- deleted silences
- smoothed out digital gaps/glitches 12:45 into MD and 6:43 and 14:07 into WLL

Revised by pernod
Sun/Mon, March 11/12, 2012


Hot August Night; The Diagrams Of Led Zeppelin Vol.42, TDOLZ 429701/429702; (60:15, 25:43)
23 August 1971; Tarrant County Convention Center; Fort Worth, Texas
Track Listing: Dazed And Confused (from bow solo), Stairway To Heaven, Celebration Day, That's The Way, What Is And What Should Never Be, Moby Dick (cut), Whole Lotta Love (includes: Just A Little Bit, Boogie Woogie, My Sweet Baby, Trucking Little Mama, Mess O' Blues, You Shook Me...), Communication Breakdown (fragment).


Recording Quality: 8.5-9. Very clear and excellent audience recording. As the show was recorded within the first five rows, in front of Page's amps, it is inevitable that Page overshadows the rhythm section somewhat. The top end of this release also appears to be have been equalized slightly, although this is minor.
Comments: Typical and enjoyable performance from 1971, even if the band appear tiresome at times (the previous two nights at the Forum were obviously too much). The real star tonight is Mr. Page, who seems to be playing on another plateau (even when he tends to 'catch his fingers'). His guitar soloing is simply outstanding and this recording allows us to hear both the beauty and aggressiveness of his guitar sound in a manner in which few recordings do.

The recording, itself, begins just after the start of the violin bow solo from Dazed And Confused. The ever dexterous and impressive Page decides to play the opening lines of Train Kept A Rollin' in between the fast guitar solo (after the bow solo) and the slower funky tempo sections, although he doesn't carry through. He even throws in phrases from White Summer during the final syncopated-instrumental rhythm section, for good measure. No doubt, tonight is Page's night.

Plant announces Black Dog before Stairway To Heaven and then tells us "I was actually trying to miss it out...", after which a female member of the audience hilariously screams out "Do it! Do it!" The band ignores her plea and proceeds with Stairway To Heaven, which features a great and inspired solo from Page. A nice but average version of Celebration Day follows.

Surprisingly, That's The Way is the only acoustic number performed. Nonetheless, it is a real treat to hear. Bonham gets into a nice work out sans-sticks during Moby Dick with the audience appreciating and acknowledging his efforts. Unfortunately, the drum solo is cut after 15 minutes just as Bonham is firing up.

The show reaches a climax during the Whole Lotta Love medley. Page's guitar soloing here is unbelievable. The frenzied solo featured in "Boogie Woogie" is in striking contrast to the apparent sluggish stop-start mood of the rhythm section. In fact, Page is so eager to demonstrate his devastating soloing skills that he cuts Plant off just as Plant is about to sing the third verse of "Trucking Little Mama". A complete version of "You Shook Me" is performed, and as expected, Page's slide guitar work is at its most intense and dirtiest tone-wise. Even his solo here is 'over the top'. The band gets into a really nice instrumental passage loosely based on "For What It's Worth", after "You Shook Me". Just when you think the band is going to really do "For What It's Worth", Plant ends the medley with "way down inside..!"

What happens next is very interesting. The taper manages to find his way backstage where we hear someone (Page?) ask "what we gonna do lads?". To which someone else (Plant?) replies "Communication", and then (Page?) "alright". The taper then manages (not without incident) to tape a fragment of the encore (the recording here is no where near as clear as it was previously) before turning his machine off.

This show was to be released by TDOLZ as Texas Led, but was delayed due to a mastering problem and subsequently released as Hot August Night. Nevertheless, it is the first release of this show on CD - a show that has been unavailable for 26 years. The cds are packaged in a simple black paper case (no photos) with raised 'Led Zeppelin' letters and Hot August Night on the front, and the track listings on the back. The 'four symbols' are also featured on the cover although you can hardly tell against the black background. This is a contrast to previous TDOLZ efforts which often feature very nice glossy photos, often from the same year of the recording. My only complaint with this release is that the second disc is a rather short 26 minutes, and should have contained some filler.

Bottom Line: The superb sound quality of this recording along with Jimmy's performance make this a worthwhile purchase, even for the casual collector. Get it! Get it!
Ronnie Blazev (7/21/97)

Also includes a transcribed interview with the taper.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts