Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

Premium Member
3,105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Led Zeppelin
The Forum
Inglewood, California
June 21, 1977
2 source AUD

Analog unknown>DAT>Remaster>Flac - Ten Years Gone snippet only

Remaster Notes - transfered 1st gen Maxell XLII 90s > Nak BX300 > Echo Mia Soundcard > Samplitude
Professional 7.2 @ 24bit 48hz. Speed corrected, slight hiss reduction(using noise samples from each Cassette)
Down sampled to 44.1 hz using soundforge 6 prof with anti-alias.
Samplitude Prof 7.2 with Waves plugins used for EQ & Dynamics @ 24bit used to enhance the sound.
Dithered to 16bit with POW-R

Title: Mike the Mike 6-21-77

CD 1
1. The Song Remains The Same
2. Sick Again
3. Nobody's Fault But Mine
4. Over The Hills And Far Away
5. Since I've Been Loving You
6. No Quarter

CD 2
1. Ten Years Gone
2. The Battle Of Evermore
3. Going To California
4. Black Country Woman
5. Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp
6. White Summer
7. Black Mountain Side
8. Kashmir
9. Over the Top

CD 3
1. Heartbreaker
2. Guitar Solo
3. Achilles Last Stand
4. Stairway To Heaven
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Rock And Roll

Winston's Notes: I was contacted last summer by an FBO member named Wayne Catalde. He let me know that he had
the Cassettes and I was welcome to remaster them for a future tree as his way of giving back to the
Zep Community. I was honored to do so. I know many of you Zep fans probably have 1/2 dozen versions
of this historic show. The story behind these Cassettes is what makes this so special to me. From
the local tape shop were Mike bought his blanks. A person working there noticed this same guy coming in
and buying up big amounts of blanks. He asked what they were for and Millard told him that he taped concerts.
They became friends and made a deal, Free blanks for Mikes taped shows.

I have listened to alot of "low gen" sources for this show. They all have "Millard Markings" most common
are cuts during No Quarter & Guitar solo. Those 2 songs are complete. Mike would also put in pulse channel
dropouts after his tape flips & and would put silent spots on some of the songs. I guess that is how he
kept track of his trades. These are clean from those "Markings" and they are the best sounding of all the
low gen versions I have heard.

I want to thank Wayne for letting me remaster this show.
I asked him to watch this thread and answer any questions or comments you might have.

This is the last one from me for awhile so please enjoy Smile


*Artwork is included

1 - 2 of 2 Posts