Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wanting to make my own original riffs however i find it so hard i dont know where to begin i thought it would be so easy however its hard as hell. How do you make riffs anyways? and solos wow!! how the hell do you come up with a solo its so bloody hard ? i think you need to know all these scales i usually do it by ear thats what works best for me. but i'm not an expert i'd really like some adveice about making amazing yet sipmle sounding riffs and solos.

·
Registered
200 Posts
for solo guitar i like to make a backing track first then try and jam on it .. .recording, and doing that 10 times, and taking out the best parts

·
Da Blooze Guy
5,854 Posts
Semishred is right, just bang it out, record it all, and go back through to find the stuff you like even if it's just one bent note. Get all the good stuff together, stir and bake till done. Really it's just practice, practice and more practice, listen to everything, not just guitar players, and try to swipe whatever catches your ear and roll it all together and make it your own.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
ddr..............there's no secret formula.............you gotta play. these guys are right, I find a backing track i like and just jam.....you'd be amazed what comes of it. For solos, well dude, you're gonna need to know a scale or two. they're not hard to learn. Jusy google something like "guitar scales" and check out the sites. there's no short cuts that i'm aware of. You've got to be willing to put in the time. good luck and remember, there's tons of guys and gals on this site willing to help ya out! :thumb:

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #7