Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the companion piece to Prairie Fire (posted earlier). It's another 12-string acoustic solo, using an alternate tuning. Prairie Fire had a minor tuning and this is major; it's also a longer piece. Moonrise over Manhattan

·
Registered
574 Posts
First let me say.. what an awesome picture. I'm also an amateur photographer and I just want to crawl into that scene with my 12 string and play some purdy music like I just heard you play on this one!!

Very nice sound. I just love 12 strings when they played right!! RIGHT ON!

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Lace. Appreciate your kind words. I'm hoping to come up with a project for you to sing on sometime 'cuz I luv your voice; maybe it can be a 12-string thingy. BTW, I can't take credit for the photo; it was something I found and borrowed on the Internet that resembled the inspiration behind the song.

·
excess to requirements
7,118 Posts
very enjoyable mate. I think you owe yourself a pat on the back :thumb:

·
Registered
4,532 Posts
Beautiful song, bro!!!:woot: Reminds me of something but, I can't put my finger on it!!!:scratch: You have a real knack for that 12 stringer...I've always wanted a Ric 12 string but, never got around to getting one.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks goport, R-meen, SG and G-wiz!! This song also sounds good (and perhaps cleaner) on a 6-string acoustic. Since I wrote this on a 12-string, I felt obligated to record it that way. Mostly it's the alternate tuning that makes it sound cool; the open strings drone and create nice harmonic overtones with the different chord voicings.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks a bunch Chip. My song is almost diametrically opposed in style and technique to the music you post; it's pretty humbling to get such nice comments from really talented folks like yourself.

·
~Free Will~
6,028 Posts