Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tell me if i'm correct, somone, i'm a Newbie at music theory but this is what i'm thinking modes are

You know how u have the Major Tonal Pattern

T T S/T T T T S/T

Modes i'm guess are different Tonal Patterns that you apply to music in order to create different scales, chord progressions other than Major or Minor? i'f im completely wrong can somone please explain in really simple terms? thanks i would much appreciate

·
Crazy Admin
4,016 Posts
vanhalenrock said:
Tell me if i'm correct, somone, i'm a Newbie at music theory but this is what i'm thinking modes are

You know how u have the Major Tonal Pattern

T T S/T T T T S/T

Modes i'm guess are different Tonal Patterns that you apply to music in order to create different scales, chord progressions other than Major or Minor? i'f im completely wrong can somone please explain in really simple terms? thanks i would much appreciate
That's one way of looking at it yes ... different tonal patterns . the main modes are all based on the major scale/tonal pattern ...

So

C D E F G A B (C) is the major scale .. if you take that scale and run it up and down starting from D you get :

D E F G A B C (D) that is the dorian mode.

if you run it from E you have the phrygian mode .. and so forth up the scale ... each one is a different mode ,

another way of looking at it with the tonal pattern is like this :

dorian mode would look like this :

T S T T T S T ..

as you can see it's the same as the major tonal pattern but starting on the second degree .

I hope that helps i tried to make it as simple as i could but i know explaining things i make things too complicated sometimes :lol: ..

so let me know if you have any questions i'll try and clear it up.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·