Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, friends, I've been trying to talk myself out of posting this song for fear of embarassment. This is my first original in about 4 years...no really...I'm not kidding! Some of you know I've been a Rhythm guitarist in cover bands for over 15 years and have taken comfort in playing great covers. Although I've played some solos to cover songs, usually in major pentatonic.............I've NEVER considered myself a lead solo guitarist at all! In fact, I HATE my solos most of the time because I lack certain skills and theory knowledge.

I realize my soloing is very amateur compared to alot of members here on the forum and probably just adequate at best but what the Hell.........am I at least on the right track? I've been working hard to improve my transistions but my phrasing probably stinks....well here goes nothing. I think this song would best be judged by feeling rather than my playing .....a few bad notes in there and its in a MINOR key
...........Hope someone likes it. I'm sweating and about to Hurl...
It's called "The Suffering".

Sorry I don't remember who made the drum track but it's great and was just what I was looking for!

·
Premium Member
1,944 Posts
No need to be nervous. It's stuff like this that prove why you're one of my favorites on this board. I loved it.

·
Registered
472 Posts
I didn't think it was too bad, prolly a lot better than I could do. I hate trying to take solos and listening to some of the players on this site can be very intimidating. All in all I would say that it's not too bad and you appear to be on the right track, you did convey some feeling and emotion there.

·
Registered
4,017 Posts
It's pretty good Riff....sure every note is not perfectly in key...but so what? The playing and tone was great. When you get lost just start and end your runs with "D"

·
Ear Candy Distributor
10,268 Posts