Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Digitech GNX4!!

I started playing again about 9 months ago after about 10 years away from guitar and realized that I wanted a new amp. I went through a pretty exhaustive search of amps in the $300-$500 price range.

I was initially in love with the Line 6 Spider III 75. It had all of those presets to play with, got pretty loud for home practice, etc. It had a CD-input jack which was nice to use for backing tracks.

I also tried the Line 6 Pod XT plugged into my old Crate 60-watt solid-state. Again, there were a lot of presets and cool, customizable effects. I could also plug headphones in and play without an amp - nice feature for late-night practice.

I tried the Vox Valvetronix amps, Vox Tonelab, and various others, including the Crate Palomino series.

One day I was at Guitar Center and noticed the Digitech stuff and started playing around with the GNX4. After a few minutes playing with it and reading about the features, logic hit me and I bought it to take home to play with. It is without a doubt, hands down, the best piece of guitar equipment that I can think of that is on the market today. It has got tons of amp/cab models, loads of effects and an expression pedal, BUILT-IN 8 track recorder, stereo line in/out, mic inputs, MP3 player built-in, etc.

I really cannot say enough about the GNX4. I am in no way affiliated with Digitech. I just wish that someone has steered me in this direction a lot sooner, so if it helps you out and gives you a nudge in a direction you wouldn't have considered then I will be happy to have helped.

What I love about the GNX4 is this: I can load up the memory card with about 100 MP3's, put on my headphones and jam along in stereo to any music I want. Trust me, I tried to do this same thing with all of the other options I listed out, and they all fail miserably. With a traditional amp, you can't get a full range stereo playback for your MP3's.