Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello people.

Well I just started playing a week ago and I am hooked. I picked up a squier start for my first. It came with a sp10 amp. I would like to upgrade but don't know anything about them.

I am mostly into rock but do like metal as well. Since I am still new I really dont want to blow a whole lot for a amp right now. I am hoping to spend no more then $300. I was looking at the Line 6 Spider III 75 or 30. Having done some searches I found some people say they are bad while others like them.

Any opinions as to which amp I should get in a $300 price range, or what to look for in a amp? For the people that don't like that amp, Can you tell me why, or what it is about it you don't like. I like the programming you can do with it.

Thanks a lot, and look forward to talking with you all.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys.

I do not use the amp to play tracks. If I play tracks they are on my stereo or computer.

My friend and I do join up to practice, but I think we both prefer to have are own settings on are own amps.

I do want something that has a headphone jack on it.

I really don't want pedals right now. My amp is crap. It came in a package with the guitar. It is probably worth $30. I would rather get a new one that has a good sound for rock and metal.

I also will look into the roland cube amps if you think they are good
Thanks again guys.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
You gave me a lot of choices. I will look into them all. Thank you.

O, one thing I noticed with the line 6 75 is no distortion? I know you can get a distorted sound with the drive, but would that amp be good for pinch harmonics? I hear you need a lot of distortion.