Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Administrator
63,210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Neil Young - 1976-03-04 - Osaka, JP
(Audience FLAC)

Neil Young
Festival Hall, Osaka, Japan
w/ Crazy Horse

Source: Tarantura OHKINI! 3CD bootleg taped by Mr. Peach (thanks to AM & NT)
Transfer: CD to wav (by AM) -> ProTools (re-tracking) -> xAct 2.47 -> flac
Torrented by: zuma11

Length: 99:58

01. intro - acoustic set
02. Tell Me Why
03. Mellow My Mind
04. After The Gold Rush
05. false start - Too Far Gone
06. Too Far Gone
07. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
08. A Man Needs A Maid
09. No One Seems To Know
10. Heart Of Gold
11. intro - electric set
12. Country Home
13. Don't Cry No Tears
14. Down By The River
15. false start - Lotta Love
16. Lotta Love
17. Like A Hurricane
18. The Losing End
19. band introductions
20. Drive Back
21. Southern Man
22. encore break 1
23. Cinnamon Girl
24. encore break 2
25. Cortez The Killer

Tour: 1976 Tour Of Japan and Europe with Crazy Horse
Band: Crazy Horse, Line Up 3

Neil Young - vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, keyboards, banjo, harmonica
Frank Sampedro - guitar, keyboards, vocals
Billy Talbot - bass, vocals
Ralph Molina - drums, vocals


- From the bootleg silvers. I don't usually circulate recordings sourced from bootlegs, but this is really nice.

- This is a different, and I think superior source, to the hempsall tree version that many of us have. I think that version was a compilation of HT & YS recordings that long circulated on cassette and DAT. These Mr Peach recordings all surfaced at the beginning of the decade. The other Mr. Peach/Neil Young shows have been shared, but this one passed us/me by.

- 15 minutes of before show, after show, between set & between encore audience clapping has been removed.

- I consolidated tracks and slightly re-tracked the original. Maybe still too many tracks for my tastes.

- There's a funky 1 sec patch somewhere towards the end of the recording that is on the source.

- The Tarantura folks have way overdone it with compressing and limiting, but this is a really good, up front recording of an early 1976 Neil Young & Crazy Horse show. The band is fresh and loose in all the right ways. The long songs are short. Cortez soars and cries. In my dreams the Neil Young Archives folks would be releasing shows like this. Thanks again to AM & NT.!_boot_zuma11_mod.flac16.part1.rar!_boot_zuma11_mod.flac16.part2.rar


1 - 5 of 5 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.