Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, This is my very first attempt at recording a VH song. I've never really played much VH because he's just too damn badass...

Does this clip sound good, bad, what do I need to add or change about the tone?? Does Eddie "upstroke" the chords or "downstroke" them?? I did both.

PodGod sent me an EVH tone for GuitarPort (Thanks POD!)....and I'm going to give this song a try but will need someone else to play the solo...I'd probably just F*ck it up. :lol: Is my playing on this decent or horrible?? :scratch:

It's not a great mix...just rough for now..I'll level out later.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
hey there..it sounds awesome to me...check this guy's videos..he shows you how to play van halen tunes...and it's FREE...!!!... :icon_peac

http://www.jfrocks2.com/

·
Registered
70 Posts
:thumb: Sounds good man!

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
The important thing here is how aggressively you attacked with the pick (and the slight muting too). You really sunk your teeth into this thing! Great job!

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks guys for the encouragement :icon_thum ..I know I need to practice it alot since I just learned it last night and I've never played Panama before. My slides need practice as well as the harmonic parts. I think I was off with the track a bit but I'll get better.

So does the tone sound good? I'm always blown away with the VH covers some of you guys post that are very EVH like in style and tone. His style is totally different than mine so it's a major challenge for me or probably anyone to cover the master.

Well, I'm off to practice and will hopefully post the full improved version later this week. I welcome any tips, criticism, etc.

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Rythameen said:
I think the recording itself sounds a little muddy, but what I can hear of your tone sounds good.