Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this isn't the most important aspect of playing guitar but... well mabye it is an important thing anyway. Ever since i started playing i allways played using my thumb and second finger, it never really bothered me but recently a friend said " whats the deal with that why do u hold pick like that ?" and i've only just noticed that EVERYONE else holds the pick between thumb and first finger !

Ok so heres the question am i putting myself at a disadvantage holding the pick like this do u think ?

·
Registered
172 Posts
No disadvantages that I've ever heard of.
In fact Eddie Van Halen uses that same technique- he can then utilise
his index finger for the tapping stuff.

·
Da Blooze Guy
5,854 Posts
I used to use my thumb and first 2 fingers, switched to thumb and index, which I like better. I think the only to use your thumb and index instead of your 2nd finger is if you want to do a lot of hybrid picking, otherwise, it's whatever feels best to you and works with your technique. :bannana_g

·
Registered
331 Posts
Thumb and middle finger is pretty much the way I hold the pick (sorry Mel Bay :( )... especially when I want to cop Ed's style of tremolo-picking (see live "Eruption" solo @ '83 US Festival for more info). Holding the pick that way also makes for some nifty "tormented screams from Hell" pinch harmonics... :lol:

Likewise, if I want to do shred a la Tony MacAlpine or Paul Gilbert, I'll hold the pick the "GIT" way with a closed fist, and a "loose" wrist... :afro:

·
Banned
7,011 Posts
I use my thumb and index for holding my pick, which easily facilitates pinch harmonics... Probabaly too easily! LOL

When I do tapping, I use my thumb to slide my pick from my index finger into the crook of my middle finger and then back, so using my thumb and index makes this an enother easy task between picking and tapping...