Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody,

Ive been working on home recording for a few months, and have been using a straight to computer connection, no mic. Using an adaptor I change the guitar chord plug to a headphone jack size plug, and plug that directly into the mic jack in the back of my computer. I usually run the guitar through wah and fuzz, then to the amp (Marshall, use it for reverb effects), then amp to the back of the computer. Its the cheap mans Guitar Port.
:dunno:
The problems Im having:
In recording, theres a 2 second lag, and I constantly have to reposition my guitar tracks to fit other tracks, and the timing goes all out of whack.
I cant hear from my amp, or computer speakers. So I record, then listen, then try again, then re record, then listen....If i plug into the Sound In jack instead of the mic jack I can hear, but i cant record.
The quality sucks. I sound like ass. I can never get the tone Im looking for.

I use a free software called Kristal Audio Engine. I tried Tracktion, but find its too cumbersome for the simple recording i want to do.

HHHHEEEELLPPPPP!!! :wutblau:

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
hi there...the way i record is to plug my guitar into my gnx3...or ony other multifx unit...then into the soundcard...i get zero latency that way....have you tried plugging your guitar into your amp...then out the headphone jack and into your sound card?...or do you have a multifx unit?...let me know how it works out for you....paul :dunno:

·
Registered
479 Posts
El_jalepeno said:
Stop being a cheap bastard and spend $100 to buy a VAmp so you can sound good, and hear while you play instead of guessing! :thumb: