Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
6,851 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rolling Stones
Foxes In The Boxes, Vol. One
Unreleased Emotional Rescue, Undercover and Keith Richards Solo Sessions
JEMS Archive

01 Neighbors
02 Let's Go Steady Again
03 Tried To Talk Her Into It
04 Keep It Cool
05 Can't Find Love 1
06 Can't Find Love 2
07 Eliza
08 High School Girl
09 Stop That
10 All I Have To Do Is Dream (false start)
11 All I Have To Do Is Dream (full take)
12 Piano Fragment

Emotional Rescue Sessions: Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas, January-February 1979 and Pathé Marconi Studios, Paris, France, June-October 1979
Undercover Sessions: Pathé Marconi Studios, Paris, France, November 1982-mid-March 1983 and The Hit Factory, New York, NY, early May-early August 1983

Hello and welcome to JEMS' Foxes In The Boxes, the first volume in a series featuring unreleased studio sessions from the Rolling Stones, circa 1979-85. Based on our research, along with the expertise of Stones sessionologist N, who helped us sort through these tapes, we believe the Foxes In The Boxes series offers a small trove of previously uncirculated material along with upgrades and a few familiar outtake favorites from new sources' tapes. All of Volume One is wholly unreleased and, we have strived to ensure, DIME compliant.

The series is titled Foxes In The Boxes in homage to its source: boxes of in-house cassette tapes obtained by JEMS from someone "on the inside" of a major record label in the '70s and '80s. It is also a rhyming nod to the bootleg Static In the Attic (Midnight Beat), which mined the same sessions for kindred material and to which we believe Foxes makes a worthy companion. Samples provided.

Some tracks in the series have been previously rumored, some are wholly new finds, while others improve on previously circulating versions. There are a few frustrating fragments, too, but what's presented here is exactly what was on the tapes, which were seemingly meant to capture and present in-progress status on Stones sessions and to preserve ideas for future consideration. With that said, let's go track by track.

Neighbors: Listed on the source tape under the slightly different title "Neighbor." This is a monitor mix with early guide vocals and is the first take of "Neighbors" to circulate intact from the Emotional Rescue sessions. All other versions, released or unreleased, come from different takes overdubbed and edited during the Tattoo You sessions. If you like "Neighbors," you'll love this rollicking and highly appealing early version.

Let's Go Steady Again: Cover of the Sam Cooke song that was the B-side of "Only Sixteen" in 1959. It features a wonderful Keith Richards lead vocal. Misnamed "Let's Go Steady" on the source tape. An Emotional Rescue outtake from Compass Point Studios late January or early February 1979. Kristi Kimsey is on backing vocals.

Tried to Talk Her Into It: This Undercover sessions outtake has been previously bootlegged (e.g. on the Outsider Bird Records LP Chain Saw Massacre), but the quality from this source tape is an upgrade.

Keep It Cool: Monitor mix of a long, jazzy Undercover sessions outtake. Also known as "Keep It Cool Parts 1 & 2," but that could refer to a rumored 20-minute version of the song said to exist.

Can't Find Love: Fragment of an Undercover sessions outtake, cut out of a much longer version of the song. This bit is likely the essence or part of the song which the Stones liked and wound up on this tape for reference purposes.

Can't Find Love: Another fragment as above, but listed specifically as a "bridge idea."

Eliza: Also known as "Eliza Upchink" (which is how Bill Wyman lists the title of this track in his second Stones book) and sometimes mis-titled as "Back On The Streets Again" when it reappeared in the Dirty Work songwriting sessions. A snippet of this song was uploaded to YouTube many years ago in memory of Ian Stewart (but that clip has since disappeared). This is the complete take.

High School Girl: This appears to be a demo recording or songwriting exploration featuring only Mick Jagger (who also plays guitar) and Charlie Watts on drums.

Stop That: An unlisted fragment on the tape. This Undercover outtake already circulates in complete form, but in inferior quality (often misnamed "Chain Saw Rocker").

All I Have To Do Is Dream: Cover version of the old Everly Brothers classic from 1958, performed by Keith Richards on solo piano at Longview Farm, North Brookfield, Massachusetts in late May 1981. This is the previously uncirculated full take, including false start. Brace yourself for Keith to be right in your living room and his voice deep inside your ears.

Piano Fragment: A bit more Keef tickling the ivories from the same session.

JEMS offers its huge thanks to N, who helped us sort through the tapes and provided invaluable insight in ascertaining what we had. The song-by-song notes above are culled from N's essential contributions. Pitch adjustments come courtesy of Goody, who lent us his keen ear and his unwavering commitment to A440. Thank you, Goody. SkipKid68 also chimed in with valuable feedback, so thanks to him, too. The much-appreciated official cover art is courtesy of ethiessen1. And last but not least, kudos to mjk5510, who came on board at the start and helped finish the project to get it into your hands.


Download this bootleg here

Lots more Rolling Stones bootlegs here:
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.