Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
excess to requirements
7,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since Khaos posted the brilliant BT today I knew I would have to have a go
This is by far my favourite Rush track. the clarity and production is superb on the original and my attempts probably don't do it any justice.

I was a little shocked to find out I had been playing it very wrong for many years so I had to relearn it as I recorded it. The result isn't too bad though. There are a few mistakes in here but it is closer than I could have hoped. The solo tone is a bit off as is the solo but at least I managed an Alex type run in there - the nearest I will ever come to shredding

·
Jeff McDonald
3,684 Posts
Oh man, Goport, this is great. I love your tone during the heavy parts. Sweet and crunchy. There are many parts where you can easily forget you are listening to a cover (except that Geddy's screeching banshee vocals are obviously not there). I don't know the technique required to play as fast as you get in the solo section, but you can tell that your playing style has been influenced by Alex because you were able to sound a lot like him during the lead section.

Those crashing chords as you come out of the solo section sound just like the album. Great production throughout this whole recording. This was quite an accomplishment. I personally would feel mighty proud if I could say that this was my recording. Nice job man. Looking forward to the next one.

Sweet BT, Khaos

·
excess to requirements
7,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you KC
I was sure you would like this.

The first part of the solo is horrible to be honest and the second part is just play as fast as you can with no regard for the key
I hate to say it but this is a classic Alex trick and it can be heard on much of his early work.