Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

551 Posts
The Band (and numerous guests)
Winterland, San Francisco, CA
The Complete Last Waltz Bootleg (4-CDs)

[email protected], raw soundboard, Artwork included

Here it is, The Complete Last Waltz Bootleg, the raw, unmixed, unretouched soundboard tapes of the entire concert from that historic Thanksgiving Day (11/25/76) Show. This is the only recorded version that includes the entire concert from start to finish, and presents the show as a concert experience, rather than as an album experience. Yes, there is an official release that presents an expanded version of the concert (2002, Rhino, 4-CD Box Set), that includes several songs not originally included in the film or the original 3-LP or 2-CD releases, but it still leaves out several songs, and does not present all the songs in the actual concert order (This expanded official set fills up the 4th CD with rehearsal session takes and additional studio film music, rather than all songs from the concert). Also, the sound is vastly different on the bootleg from both the original and remastered expanded official releases. Don't get me wrong, the 4-disc Rhino release is exquisite and I heartily recommend it to all fans of the Band. Please, Go buy it. That project was meticulously remastered, crafted, and overseen by the perfectionist Robbie Robertson himself, and it sounds great!. But they also redubbed or overdubbed parts that were not clear, edited some of the songs, removed much of the crowd noise, etc. to create the best sound possible. What this bootleg version gives you is the actual concert experience, what it was like to have been there for the event itself, even with some sound limitations and mistakes (crowd noise, some instruments lost in the mix, or sloppy playing, etc. But it is still a fine sounding soundboard recording). I think both the expanded official release and this bootleg version are must-have for serious fans. Thus, this version is decidedly different from any official releases and does not infringe upon them. For a complete description of the differences beween the official releases and this bootleg (and why you should get both), see This article from The Band's website ( and this article ( for a fuller description of this bootleg. --BBKron

Disc 1
01 - Intro
02 - Up On Cripple Creek
03 - The Shape I'm In
04 - It Makes No Difference
05 - Life Is A Carnival
06 - Wheels On Fire
07 - WS Walcott Medicine Show
08 - Georgia On My Mind
09 - Ophelia
10 - King Harvest
11 - The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
12 - Stage Fright
13 - Rag Mama Rag

Disc 2
01 - Intro
02 - Who Do You Love (Hawkins)
03 - Such A Night (Dr John)
04 - Down South In New Orleans (Bobby Charles)
05 - Mystery Train (Butterfield)
06 - Caledonia (Muddy Waters)
07 - Mannish Boy (Waters)
08 - All Our Past Times (Clapton)
09 - Further On Up The Road (Clapton)
10 - Helpless (Young)
11 - Four Strong Winds (Young)

Disc 3
01 - Intro
02 - Coyote (Mitchell)
03 - Shadows & Light (Mitchell)
04 - Furry Sings The Blues (Mitchell And Young)
05 - Dry Your Eyes (Diamond)
06 - Tura Lura Lura (Morrison)
07 - Caravan (Morrison)
08 - Acadian Driftwood
09 - Genetic Method
10 - Chestfever
11 - The Last Waltz-Evangeline
12 - The Weight

Disc 4
01 - Intro
02 - Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Dylan)
03 - Hazel (Dylan)
04 - I Don't Belive You (Dylan)
05 - Forever Young (Dylan)
06 - Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Reprise) (Dylan)
07 - I Shall Be Released (All With Ringo And Ron Wood)
08 - Jam #1
09 - Jam #2
10 - Don't Do It

The Band
* Rick Danko - bass, fiddle, vocals
* Levon Helm - drums, mandolin, vocals
* Garth Hudson - organ, piano, accordion, synthesizers, soprano saxophone
* Richard Manuel - piano, organ, drums, clavinet, dobro, vocals
* Robbie Robertson - guitar, piano, vocals

Horn Section
* Rich Cooper - trumpet, flugelhorn
* James Gordon - flute, tenor saxophone, clarinet
* Jerry Hay - trumpet, flugelhorn
* Howard Johnson - tuba, baritone saxophone, flugelhorn, bass clarinet
* Charlie Keagle - clarinet, flute, saxophone
* Tom Malone - trombone, euphonium, alto flute
* Larry Packer - electric violin
* Horns arranged by Henry Glover, Garth Hudson, Howard Johnson, Tom Malone, John Simon and Allen Toussaint

Other musicians
* Bob Margolin - guitar (Muddy Waters)
* Dennis St. John - drums (Neil Diamond)
* John Simon - piano ("Tura Lura Lural")("Georgia On My Mind")

* Paul Butterfield - harmonica, vocals
* Bobby Charles - vocals
* Eric Clapton - guitar, vocals
* Neil Diamond - guitar, vocals
* Dr. John - piano, guitar, congas, vocals
* Bob Dylan - guitar, vocals
* Bill Graham - master of ceremonies
* Emmylou Harris - acoustic guitar, vocals
* Ronnie Hawkins - vocals
* Joni Mitchell - acoustic guitar, vocals
* Van Morrison - vocals
* Pinetop Perkins - piano, vocals
* Carl Radle - bass
* Cleotha Staples - backing vocals
* Mavis Staples - vocals
* Roebuck "Pops" Staples - guitar, vocals
* Yvonne Staples - backing vocals
* Ringo Starr - drums
* Stephen Stills - guitar
* Muddy Waters - vocals
* Ronnie Wood - guitar
* Neil Young - guitars, harmonica, vocals


Enjoy! And don't forget to check out my blog, the BB Chronicles:

551 Posts
New Links HERE:

Here are new updated links for The Band - The Complete Last Waltz Bootleg. Evidently someone deleted my previous uploads, as they were only available for less than 2 months. Anyway, here are the new links, and these have also been updated in the blog, too ( Hope these will last awhile so that all who are interested get a chance to download.


17 Posts
That's not ">>>> OFFICIAL CONTENT <<<<", since most of the concert was later overdubbed on studio. Whoever censored the links didn't read or

As said by producer John Simon: "I'm pretty sure that Levon is the only honest, live element in The Last Waltz, with the exception of Muddy Water's vocal. Everything else was overdubbed and redone. Levon was basically gone, because he was disgusted with certain of the business practices. Robbie asked him to do his part over again, but Levon had nothing to do with it. [...] Robbie was right in that there were some good reasons for overdubbing the whole thing. Richard wasn't singing well, Rick's bass was out of tune, and Robbie wanted to improve his guitar solos. Also, the horns were recorded completely out of balance and had to be redone in New York with arrangements Henry Glove and I put together." (This Wheel's on Fire - Levon Helm and the Story of the Band - Levon Helm & Stephen Davis, Chicago Review Press, 2000)
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.