Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

1,436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Smiths - Peel Sessions 1983 - 1986 [Vinyl LP, Crazy-Col Remaster 2014]

Source Vinyl LP

Track List:-

01 - Is It Really So Strange?
02 - Rusholme Ruffians
03 - This Charming Man
04 - Reel Around The Fountain
05 - Back To The Old House
06 - How Soon Is Now?
07 - London
08 - What Difference Does It Make?
09 - Half A Person
10 - Still Ill
11 - William, It Was Really Nothing
12 - Handsome Devil
13 - Sweet And Tender Hooligan
14 - This Night Has Opened My Eyes
15 - Miserable Lie


Vinyl LP > Systemdek IIX Turntable > Systemdek Arm > Linn K9 Cartridge >
Sony Minidisc MDS JE320 [Recording] > Sony Minidisc MDS-JB940 [Playback] > WAV >
Audacity [Track Split/Normalize/Remove DC Offset] > Sony Soundforge [Click/Crackle Removal] >
Izotope Mastering Suite [Remastering] > Audacity [Editing/Fade Outs] > Wavelab 6 [Pan Normalize] >
Fairstars Audio Converter [Wav To Flac Conversion (Level 8)] > Smiths Torrent > You

Remastering Notes:-

There are problems with this LP:-

01 - "How Soon Is Now" had John Peel talking at the end, I have removed it for this remaster.
02 - "Half A Person" had/has "issues" for the first 5 seconds this is partly the recording/transfer & the failings of Vinyl.
I have attempted to solve this in this remaster to the best of my ability, by removing a few seconds & fading the song in, it isn't 100% but is a lot better.
03 - "Still Ill" cuts off abruptly @ 2:20, this is how it is on the LP,
no idea why other than to speculate they cut it to fit all the tracks on the LP?
If anyone knows why please tell!
I decided to do a gentle fade out on the remaster it seems a lot better.

The above lineage tells you everything that went on & into this version.
It was very enjoyable working on this, my goal was to brighten & enliven the songs, without pushing things to far & make them over bright, I think this has been achieved, with the work i have done.
I aired on the side of caution with this not wanting to overwork it, it could have been more "in your face" but that really isn't me or The Smiths I think.

Noise reduction was not used at all, the only track were there is noticeable hiss is "How Soon Is Now,"
I felt it was acceptable so left it.

I have loved & admired The Smiths for many decades now & continue to follow them as individual artists.
I tried were possible to bring out the individual instruments & Morrissey's vocals as much as was possible within the remastering.

Not everyone will like what I have done with this, it is mastered to my taste alone,
but I think enough will like it to warrant offering it here.

There are some (rather rubbish) photos of the LP, sorry for there quality (or lack of it),
if anyone has better ones please post/share.

**Please don't profit (sell) this, freely has it been given to you, so please do likewise.**
**By all means share/swap but don't sell.**

If you want to convert it to a lossy format who am I to tell you no?
You will do it anyway!
If you do please keep the bit rate as high as you can (320 ideally),
if more people get to hear and enjoy it then all the better,
but please keep these notes with any sharing that you do, thanks.

Finally enjoy, it is a great listen [IMO].

Ripped, Remastered & Seeded September 2014 by Crazy-Col, For All @ Smiths Torrents.

Made In England.

1 - 5 of 5 Posts