Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm new to the board.

I've been playing for about 6 months now and I want a new guitar. I have a Epiphone Special II right now, it's not exactly a high end guitar, I want something new and better sounding.

So I've been looking at the Ibanez RG350. It's just under $400 which is in my price range.
The thing is that I like to play alot of different stuff like Van Halen, Vai, Satriani, Slipknot, Drowning Pool and other metall/rock stuff.
It's not that important that I get this super chunky bassy metall sound, the problem is, since I like to play all of that stuff I'm retuning the guitar alot.
The RG350 has a Edge Pro II system, I've heard that it can be a real pain in the ass to retune and restring it. So I don't know what to do. :dunno:
Maybe I should get this for the Vai and Satriani stuff and buy a more metal oriented guitar like a Schecter later?

I'm also wondering if you guys have tried the RG350 and what your take is on it.
Are there similar models that I might wanna look at first before getting it?
I wish I could try it out myself but there are no music stores or guitar centers where I live, so that's a bit of a problem. :doh:

I hope you guys can help me out here. :santa:
Thanks, Rob.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Hey there, the RG350 is a good guitar. But if you've never owned a guitar with a floating bridge on it before, prepare to be frustrated the first time you go through the string changing dance.

There are a lot of different approaches to string changing, but the best advice can be found on the Jemsite. It's not that hard once you get your head around it.