Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

Premium Member
8,824 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A special thanks to Hurricane62 for sharing this on dime!

Trans-Siberian Orchestra (West)
Xcel Energy Center
St. Paul, MN, USA
December 30, 2014 (7:30 PM show)

Recorded by Hurricane62 from the 10th row, center of floor.

Audio Technica SP-CMC-2 Cardioid Mics -> SP-SPSB-11 Battery Box with Bass Rolloff set at 107 Hz -> Sony PCM-M10 (44.1 MHz/16 bit) with Limiter ON and Low Pass Filter OFF -> WavePad (amp, normalize, & track splitting) -> converted to .flac using Traders Little Helper (SBE's fixed, flac level 8)

Haven't seen many TSO audio boots from the 2014 Christmas Attic Tour. Sorry it's taken so long to get this one out, but it has been a real chore. TSO shows in general are VERY hard to record and produce as a good recording because of the wide range of volume and instrumentation that they use. The go from the very soft vocals set to an acoustic guitar or a piano solo to an electric metal instrumental and then to spoken word from a Narrator. And there's always some fireworks, usually at the end, that will peak your meters and completely overshadow everything else. So this one has been a manual labor of love to bring up the soft parts without creating an obvious imbalance between the soft and the loud, and to dampen the peaks, which other than the explosions are generally the crowd cheering or distinct hand-clapping from nearby because of how high I had to set my record levels. My seat was great for viewing, but the 10th row is as far back as I've ever been for a TSO show and with the higher-than-usual record levels, the crowd cheers at the end of songs were the highest peaks on the recording.

There's also a couple of minor (IMO) glitches. My microphone jack into the battery box or the lead out of the battery box to the recorder must have been very slightly loose. There were about a dozen crackles that I had to zap and one gap during Bart Shatto's "Dream Child" that I had to butcher to repair - clearly noticable, but not as offensive as a soundless gap.

I did no Eq on this recording. I spent all my time on normalizing the soft and loud to get a balanced final product. I think the high/low Eq balance is close enough that most listeners should be able to dial it in to their own liking using simple Bass and Trebel adjustments.

Personally, I'd give it an A- (and I think I'm a tough, but fair judge of my work), but there's audio samples in the comments for you to judge for yourself.

ARTWORK IS INCLUDED. All artwork photos were captured by Hurricane62 during the show.

Disc 1 (76:15):
01 Intro (4:41)
02 Time And Distance (2:24)
03 Winter Palace (3:59)
04 Narration #1 (2:53)
05 The Ghosts Of Christmas Eve (2:33)
06 Boughs Of Holly (4:27)
07 Narration #2 (0:32)
08 The World That He Sees (5:09)
09 Narration #3 (0:30)
10 March Of The Kings (4:12)
11 Narration #4 (0:39)
12 The Three Kings and I (8:31)
13 Narration #5 (1:05)
14 Christmas Canon Rock (4:02)
15 Narration #6 (0:30)
16 Joy/Angels We Have Heard On High (4:01)
17 Narration #7 (1:38)
18 Find Our Way Home (4:07)
19 Narration #8 (0:39)
20 Appalachian Snowfall (4:02)
21 Narration #9 (0:15)
22 Muisc Box Blues (6:58)
23 Narration #10 (1:59)
24 The Snow Came Down (6:21)

Disc 2 (71:46):
25 Narration #11 (0:47)
26 Dream Child (A Christmas Dream) (6:45)
27 Narration #12 (0:48)
28 Christmas In The Air (4:20)
29 Narration #13 (1:45)
30 Cast Introduction (5:47)
31 Christmas Jam (3:43)
32 The Mountain (5:35)
33 Gabriella Guncikova Introduction (1:01)
34 Someday (4:22)
35 Night Conceives (4:24)
36 Sparks (3:57)
37 Wizards In Winter (3:21)
38 This Christmas Day (6:26)
39 Band Introduction (3:16)
40 Keyboard Duel (3:54)
41 Requiem (The Fifth) (3:45)
42 Christmas Eve (Sarajevo 12/24) (4:19)
43 Outro (0:52)

Phillip Brandon - Narrator
April Berry - vocals
Ava Davis - vocals
Jodi Katz - vocals
Chloe Lowery - vocals
John Brink - vocals
Bart Shatto - vocals
Andrew Ross - vocals, guitar
Nathan James - vocals
Jeff Scott Soto - vocals
Gabriella Guncikova - vocals

Al Pitrelli - guitar, music director
Angus Clark - guitar
Vitalij Kuprij - keyboards
Jane Mangini - keyboards
Johnny Lee Middleton - bass
John O. Reilly - drums
Asha Mevlana - violin
The Minnesota Chapter of the Trans-Siberian Orchestra - strings

To all that download this recording,

Please do not convert this to lossy (mp3) format and then share in a public forum. If you want to convert to mp3 for your own use, have at it! Diluting the bootleg pool only hurts the collector that appreciates a lossless source. Let all those poor folks with full hard drives and slow internet service download the lossless version and convert it themselves. Feel free to share publicly in lossless format, but please keep the information file and artwork with the audio files and make sure that you give the taper the credit that he (me) is due. Never sell - share or trade (in lossless) freely.

Avoid sites like HOB and G101 to keep the filth off of your computer.

Thank you & Enjoy!

'Cane62 St. Paul, MN - 20141230 (H62-flac).part1.rar St. Paul, MN - 20141230 (H62-flac).part2.rar St. Paul, MN - 20141230 (H62-flac).part3.rar
1 - 3 of 3 Posts