Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ulnie\'s Begginer\'s Guide to Direct Recording

Hey all, here's a guide to recording that I wrote for Guitar War. If you are new to recording please pay close attention to the panning section as that trick is going to make your pieces sound awesome.

Ulnie's Direct Digital Recording 101
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey all, I'm writing this guide solely because nobody else seems to want to do it and because I wished there was a guide like this when I was first learning stuff.This guide is written with the absolute beginner in mind, the goal here is to give the newbie recorder just enough information to get up and running and to start learning things for themselves. Because of this, and because I am also relatively new to digital recording, I'm not really going to go into technical details and use all kinds of fancy terminology that sounds like its straight out of Star Trek. I intend this guide to be an evolving process, should I be mistaken about a particular fact, hopefully the production masters out there can let me know, and I can update this guide. Well, lets get started.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. What is direct digital recording? How can I do it?

Direct recording involves plugging your guitar directly into your computer in order to create music. In order to do this, you are gonna need a few things.

-A Guitar
-At least one patchcord
-A connector
-Recording Software
-An Audio Converter
-Monitors (optional)

The Connector