Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
PantallicA
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive looked around on some sites to try and find a 100 watt amp coz that would be good for blowing my windows out and if i ever do a gig at least ill have somthin loud. I heard the fenders are really loud for what they are. and peavey lack power and tone. and well marshall are to expensive for coz a 50watt one is about 800 bucks so fuk that. but i just want your ideas on a really loud 100 watt amp but has lots of tone and etc.

thanx :jam: :drunk: :jot: :dunno:

·
Registered
500 Posts
Try the PV 5150, Triple XXX, and JSX, they are all awesome, and you can get really good deals on 'em used. Paid $370 for my 5150. It is amazin'. I never really wanted a Marshal cuz' they're expensive and everyone uses them.

·
Your own personal Satan
766 Posts
I'm no expert, but I love my Line 6 Spider 212. 100 Watt combo amp with some great effects built in. You can also use the same pedal (FB4) that the POD uses, if you happen to have a POD. About $500 new.

G

·
Do you want a Solid State amplifier of a Tube amp? A tube amp will definately be much louder, will give you sweet overdrive that solid states can't touch.

A 100 watt tube amp won't be much louder than a 50 watt tube amp. You need 10x the wattage to produce twice the loudness, so a 100watt amp would be twice as loud as a 10watt amp.

Trust me on this, a 100watt amp will be way to loud for your bedroom, specially if you go with a tube amp. I have a 40 watt tube amp and it's just too much, I'm going to replace the power tubes with some THD Yellowjackets probably to lower the wattage so I can overdrive the amp on the clean channel earlier.

·
PantallicA
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
hmmmmm i could go for a 60 watt. whats a nice 50watt tube amp. brand etc. a link to the site would be really helpful thanx.

G

·
HeReSy said: