Guitars101 - Guitar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

(Sorry this is so damn long, I'll understand if you don't want to read it.)

I've been coming to this site just about everyday for probably a month or so now. I haven't said much, but I'd now like to say what an incredible site this is. And I don't just mean in the obvious way, with all of the things it has to offer. But more noticeably, the attitudes and friendliness of everyone here, and the time, effort, and dedication those running it, and contributing to it, put in. Everyone's been great with their compliments and guidance toward their fellow musicians, regardless of their playing levels, or styles here. Even with the unfortunate incident recently, most everyone seems somewhat understanding and forgiving. I've never witnessed so many "nice guitarists" before, which brings me toward my point.

I've been a guitarist for twenty-six years now. I've always tried never to judge anyone, or consider myself above anyone, especially other guitarists. I had some good friends helping me when I was starting out, and I've always tried to remember that, when I see someone else struggling, or just reaching out for some advice. But It's been troubling me (not eating away at me, or anything) for many, many years now, why it is that so many guitarists (again, nobody here) are so arrogant, self-righteous, and overly-competitive. I've never notice this on any large scale with drummers, keyboardists, bass players... it's primarily guitar players.